New Chairman to the Board of the Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore (IRAS)

Mrs Tan Ching Yee (曾庆怡) Permanent Secretary (Finance)



Mrs Tan Ching Yee, 51, held various appointments in the Ministry of Trade and Industry and Ministry of Education before her appointment as Deputy Secretary in the Ministry of Education in 1998 and Chief Executive Officer, InfoComm Development Authority of Singapore and concurrently Deputy Secretary (Info-Comm and Media), Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts in 2002. Mrs Tan was appointed Second Permanent Secretary (Education) in 2005 and became Permanent Secretary (Education) in 2007. She has been Permanent Secretary (Health) since 2012. Wef 1 May 2016, Mrs Tan will appointed as Permanent Secretary (Finance) and Permanent Secretary (Prime Minister's Office)(Special Duties).

Mr Peter Ong Boon Kwee (王文辉) Permanent Secretary (Finance)



Mr Peter Ong, 54, held various appointments in the Ministry of Communications and Information, Ministry of Trade and Industry, Civil Service College and Ministry of Home Affairs before his appointment as Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Industry in 1996 and his secondment to Temasek Holdings as its Executive Vice-President from 1998 to 2000.

Mr Ong was appointed Second Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Defence in 2001 and a year later, he was appointed Permanent Secretary (Transport) before becoming Permanent Secretary (Trade and Industry) in 2005. He became Second Permanent Secretary (Finance) in 2008 and Permanent Secretary (Finance) a year later. He was appointed Head of Civil Service, Permanent Secretary (Special Duties), Prime Minister's Office and Permanent Secretary (National Security and Intelligence Coordination), in addition to his appointment as Permanent Secretary (Finance) in 2010. Mr Ong relinquished his appointment as Permanent Secretary (National Security and Intelligence Coordination) in 2011.

Mr Ong, will concurrently be appointed as Permanent Secretary (Prime Minister's Office)(Strategy) after he relinquishes his appointment as Permanent Secretary (Prime Minister's Office)(Special Duties) and Permanent Secretary (Finance) wef 1 May 2016. This follows the establishment of the PMO Strategy Group last July to support the Prime Minister and his Cabinet in establishing priorities and strengthening strategic alignment across Government.

IRAS BOARD MEMBERS AS AT 1 MAY 2016

Chairman

1 Mrs Tan Ching Yee PS (Finance), Ministry of Finance

Members

- 2 Mr Tan Tee How Commissioner / Chief Executive Officer Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore
- 3 Dr Lee Kwok Cheong Chief Executive Officer SIM Global Education
- 4 Mr Bob Tan
 Chairman
 Jurong Engineering Ltd
- 5 Mr Pek Hak Bin Chief Executive Officer Cronus Energy Pte Ltd
- 6 Mr Pok Soy Yoong Former Head of Tax, Ernst & Young
- 7 Mr Niam Chiang Meng Permanent Secretary (National Population & Talent Division) Permanent Secretary (National Climate Change)
- 8 Mrs Chng Sok Hui Chief Financial Officer, DBS Group
- 9 Dr Philip Pillai