Stamp Duty Basics for Property

Stamp Duty is a tax on dutiable documents relating to any immovable property ("property") in Singapore and any stock or shares.

Dutiable Documents

 Dutiable documents include the following:

1. Lease / Tenancy Agreements for Properties

These are documents signed when you rent a property. Stamp Duty is calculated on the actual rent or market rent, whichever is higher.  

2. Transfer Documents for Properties

There are three types of duties payable on the sale, purchase, acquisition or disposal of properties in Singapore:

  • Buyer's Stamp Duty (BSD)
  • Additional Buyer's Stamp Duty (ABSD)
  • Seller's Stamp Duty (SSD)

BSD is payable on the purchase or acquisition of properties. Prior to 20 Feb 2018, the top marginal BSD rate for both residential and non-residential properties was 3%. With effect from 20 Feb 2018, there are differentiated BSD rates between residential and non-residential properties. The top marginal BSD rate for acquisition of residential properties on or after 20 Feb 2018 is 4%.

If you buy or acquire residential properties (including residential land) on or after 8 Dec 2011, ABSD may also be applicable.

If you buy or acquire residential properties and industrial properties on or after 20 Feb 2010 and 12 Jan 2013 respectively, SSD is payable if the properties are sold within the holding period. 

For definition of residential properties, click here.  

For exceptions, please refer to exemptions, remissions and reliefs

3. Mortgages for Properties

These are documents signed when you mortgage your property to obtain a loan from a bank or a financial institution. Stamp Duty is computed based on the loan amount.


Stamp Duty on Documents Relating to Multiple Matters

If a document relates to more than one matter, Stamp Duty will be charged for each matter. 

Example : Two sets of Stamp Duty will be charged on a document for sale and lease-back of a property

Non-Dutiable Documents

You do not need to pay Stamp Duty on the following documents:

  1. Assignment of intangible assets such as Goodwill, Trademark and Patents
  2. Assignment of book debts / receivables (e.g. sale proceeds)
  3. Charter-party
  4. Declaration to change from Joint Tenancy to Tenancy in Common in Equal Shares
  5. Declaration to hold as Joint Tenants (by Tenants in Common In Equal Shares)
  6. Deed of Appointment of Trustees - where it does not involve vesting of interest
  7. Fixed and nominal duty documents (dated on and after 19 Feb 2011). For more details, please refer to our e-Tax Guide on Stamp Duty: Removal of Fixed and Nominal Duties (Second Edition) (116 KB, PDF)
  8. Hire Purchase Agreement
  9. Letters of Appointment /  Revocation of Power of Attorney
  10. Letters of Guarantee / Indemnity
  11. Loan agreements not relating to properties and shares
  12. Promissory Note
  13. Service contracts not in connection with the granting of a lease
  14. Settlement not relating to properties and shares
  15. Statutory Declaration, Affidavit
  16. Will
  17. Insurance documents

When to Stamp

You are required to stamp a document before you sign it. However, if you have signed a document and stamped it within the following time frame, no penalty will be charged: 

  1. Within 14 days after signing the document if it is signed in Singapore or
  2. Within 30 days after receiving the document in Singapore if the document is signed overseas

Where to Stamp

You can stamp your documents easily through any of the following:

Non-Payment or Late Payment of Stamp Duty

If you do not meet the deadline, you may have to pay a penalty.

A penalty of up to 4 times may be imposed on documents that are unstamped, stamped late or insufficiently stamped.

It is an offence to use a document for which Stamp Duty payment has not been made. 

Please refer to Late Payment of Stamp Duty for more details.


  • Strongly Disagree
  • Strongly Agree

Information is easy to understand.

Information is useful.

Information is easy to find.

Please email us if you would like us to respond to your enquiries.